The status of a website defines its accessibility by the public and is set and accessed through the dropdown in the top right hand corner of the interface:
There are 2 possible statuses, "Published" and "Draft" for a website as shown in the image above, and these are described below. Note that immediately after creating or cloning an event, its status will be Published.
When a website is in "Published" status, it means that the website is public and it is accessible to everyone.
When a website is in "Draft" status, it means that the website is accessible only to you and not accessible to the public. However, there will be a "Share" button and upon clicking on that, you will see a pop up which includes the share special link of your website to give certain people access to preview the website.